Pine Tree Preserve

I had a bit of a scare recently. I woke up one morning with pain in my right leg, causing me to walk with a significant limp. Knowing that I have a rather high tolerance to pain, I decided to consult with the local orthopedist, especially since it was the leg that had a hip replacement 6 years ago. Based on his questions, I had a sense that he was exploring the possibility of a loosening of the replacement. I was told not to exercise until the results of x-rays and bone scans were reviewed. Since I was not allowed to explore new preserves or hike, this gave me plenty of time to worry and think “6 years? That’s all I get on the replacement? 6 years?”

By the time I had the bone scan, my leg was actually starting to feel better. When the radiologist report came back with muscular issues and no issues with the replacement, I was delighted. I still did not have the doctor’s review of things, but the weather was beautiful and my appointment was two weeks out. I was ready to explore, but I did decide that I would hold off on taking to the mountains in the Camden Hills State Park until I got the okay. Instead I headed for a solo walk at the Pine Tree Preserve in Boothbay Harbor.

Once at the trailhead, the first thing I noticed was the small bridge over a muddy section of trail. I was already thinking that this would not be the best place to walk during mud season. I paused for a minute to study the curved tree forming an entrance to the park before stopping to look at the notices on the kiosk. Although my printed map was the same, I did see that there was a notice of new trails added so that bikers could enjoy the preserve as well. From the information, I knew I wanted to stay on the white blazed trail for this visit.

Not that far in, I had to walk around 2 additional muddy sections of trail. There were some boards laid down to serve as bog bridges but I still had to find a way around parts of this area. Once on dry ground, I was able to study the hidden wonders of this park. Vegetation was beginning to brighten up things  with plenty of Mayflower and Starflowers leaves in abundance. In the midst of this greenery I found an old tractor implement, partially hidden by the spring growth. A little further on, I found a blanket of Wood Anemones just beginning to bloom.

As I continued my journey, I had to maneuver around two rather large wet areas of the trail. More proof that this was probably not a good mud season exploration. The trail soon began to loop around a small pond. I stopped  a few times to observe the beauty of the water before moving on. On the far side of the pond, I did have some uphill walking but nothing too strenuous.

I was nearing the end of the loop when I noticed a patch of Golden Thread flowers. With these flowers and the Wood Anemones, I was glad to see that Spring was well underway. I soon reached the end of the loop, arriving back at the kiosk. I was probably out for about an hour but it was enough to ease the restless spirit with some outdoor therapy and to know that my leg had survived the test with no problems.

2 thoughts on “Pine Tree Preserve

Leave a comment