Curves

As Curves.1I reviewed my quilt progress over the years, I realized that all of my projects used squares, rectangles or half-square Curves.2triangles. Diamonds, odd pointed stars and circles just intimidate me. But lately, I have been challenged to try something with curves. With much trepidation, I found a pattern template for curves, pulled out some fabric and attempted my first curved block.

Having only a cardboard template to work with, I drew the pieces of the block on the back of my fabric and used scissors to cut the pieces for my project. Weeks later, when my daughter and I were visiting quilt shops during the quilt shop hop, everyone told me that curves weren’t so bad if you used a special Curves.3curved ruler and a tiny rotary cutter. Who knew? But at least now I could blame the absence of the proper tools for any inaccuracies in my work.

The first part of construction was easy. I only had to sew two curved pieces to each other along the straight edge to come up with a leaf shaped curve. It was sewing the convex side of fabric to the concave side of the leaf that proved a bit challenging. I marked the center of each fabric, used lots of pins to Curves.4hold everything together and began to slowly stitch the two pieces together.

The individual leaf squares did not look too bad, so I stitched 4 leaf squares together to complete the block. I wish that the finished block wasn’t so bulky at the center but I don’t think my first attempt was a total disaster. Somewhat satisfied with my first block, I laid out the remaining fabrics in the possible finished order for a completed quilt.

Leave a Reply

