San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden

TeaGardenMay16.1I decided that my next outdoor adventure in San Antonio was a visit to the Japanese Tea Gardens. Resolving to use whatever public transportation was available, I walked one block down from the hotel, hopped on the #7 bus and headed north towards the gardens. Within 15 minutes, I was standing at the entrance to the gardens.

Once inside, I sensed the calming influence that filled this small oasis. I paused a bit to take in the carefully laid out landscape; a structure meant to encourage the user to pause and meditate. The walkway beyond the entrance, looked down upon a peaceful haven TeaGardenMay16.2of stone bordered gardens, ponds supporting lily pads and koi, and a waterfall.

Rather that step down into the gardens immediately, I decided to explore the upper level for a bit and headed down a dirt path that lead through the woods. This route seemed to head towards the zoo and exhibited no apparent association with the formal gardens. I spotted a small trail that lead me up towards a dirt road that was pretty open and barren looking. Since it gave the appearance of a maintenance road, I turned around to proceed in the opposite direction. When the trail continued beyond an open gate, I decided it was time to head back towards the formal gardens. Looking off into the woods on my way back, I found evidence of someone encouraging the cat population, spotting the occasional small enclosed structure TeaGardenMay16.3and cans of food.

Back at the gardens, I headed down one of the stone walkways towards the waterfall at the far end. Along the way, I discovered another path meandering back towards the tea-house. It was a bit more enclosed, with vegetation creeping into the walkway but still part of the formal gardens. Just as I was about to head down this road, I spied a rather hairy black cat walking upon this route ahead of me. As it jumped over the stone border, I noticed theTeaGardenMay16.4 lovely spiky white stripe down its back. Discretion being the better part of valor, I decided that I did not need to explore this particular path and moved on, leaving the skunk to its territory.

Reaching the waterfall, I looked across the ponds toward the stone pavilion above the gardens. I enjoyed the stillness that exuded from this scene. As I crossed over the stone bridges and walked around the ponds, I thought that is would be nice to sit for a time and become completely immersed in the calm atmosphere that was clearly the intent of those who planned this haven. But alas, there was not a bench to be found, so I walked up to the stone pavilion, sat on one of the steps and gazed at the waterfall before continuing on to the Botanical Gardens.

 

One thought on “San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden

Leave a Reply

