Alpharetta Greenway

The dayGreenwayApr16.3 after running my brother into the ground during our Amicalola Falls Hike, we had an easy day of museum visits before calling it quits. Two days later, we spent some time touring Bulloch Hall, the childhood home of the wife of Teddy Roosevelt. I tried to convince my brother that we should hike along the Chattahoochee River, which was not far from this historic home butGreenwayApr16.1 he claimed it was not happening. We compromised by walking about 3 miles along the Big Creek Greenway.

The Big Creek Greenway is an 8.5 mile stretch of walkway that meanders along the Big Creek. Built to preserve green space during a time of rapid growth, it provides a relatively quiet place for walkers, joggers, and cyclists to enjoy. It is always a pleasure to find a natural, quiet area set aside in such built-up places.

I did not pay attention to which section of the Greenway we actually walked, but I have a feeling that we may have begun our stroll along Mansell Road. Meandering along the pavedGreenwayApr16.2 path, I found clusters of yellow daisy/aster like flowers on both sides of the trail. Studying my field guides later, I discounted my first analysis for the leaves of these plants did not have the more even appearance of either. I could be wrong but I finally narrowed my choice to the Ragwort family. Further along, I found white Fleabane mixed in. Of course I concentrated on the flowers and the greenness during our walk, since everything was still rather bare backGreenwayApr16.4 home.

Occasionally, we would come very close to apartment or condo complexes but the placement of trees and vine cover kept the development from being too intrusive;  and we always had a view of the Creek on one side of the walkway. At ½ mile intervals there were distance markers, allowing us to keep track of our progress. I believe my companion kept looking for these markers, trying to decide how far we would travel before it would be acceptable to suggest embarking on our return journey. After crossing two bridges and reaching the 1.5 mile sign, we turnedGreenwayApr16.5 around.

On our return journey, we spotted several deer grazing not far from the trail. They did not seem startled by our presence as they slowly made their way along, munching on leaves. One creature even looked up to stare at us, a cluster of leaves hanging from its mouth.

All along our walk, I kept noticing the remnants of red flowers on the paved ground and wondered how they got there. It wasn’t long before my brother pointed out the vines nearby, bearing the blossoms of the Trumpet Flower. Sometimes, I am not very observant and have to be reminded to look up in order to appreciate everything nature has to offer.  Soon, we returned to our starting point and made our way home.

One thought on “Alpharetta Greenway

  1. You should have tried to convince him that you needed to reach the 2.5 mile marker, to do justice to the 5 miles you hiked on the last trip. 😉 Georgia looks pretty. We’ll be green soon too! :fingers crossed!:

Leave a Reply

