Our Favorite Hike

Following BaldRockJun15.4my midweek wildflower walk, my husband and I decided to take our favorite hike up Bald Rock Mountain in the Camden Hills State Park. Other than my somewhat strenuous climb up Ragged Mountain during the wildflower walk, it had been a long time since we did anything resembling an uphill climb.

Our hike began on the Multiuse Trail. Although not steep, it is a continuous uphill walk. It would be approximately a mile before we reached the trailhead for Bald Rock Mountain. At the beginning of our walk, I noted the progress of the Maple Leaf Viburnum and the abundance of Buttercups along the side of the trail.

Pretty soon, I was concentrating on reaching the trailhead. In ½ mile, we passed the trailhead for Frohock Mountain, another route that we would like to explore someday. Then, the Multiuse Trail seemed BaldRockJun15.2to get a bit steeper. I was definitely feeling this ascent but was determined not to stop until we reached the trailhead. Huffing and puffing, I was certainly relieved when we finally reached the trail for Bald Rock Mountain.

We rested for a time on the remnants of the stone foundation, located just at the beginning of the trail. I knew that the next ½ mile to the summit was going to be tough, so I let my heart rate drop before moving on. There are stone steps along the trail to assist the traveler on the climb. Even when I am in better shape, I usually stop at the top of the steps to catch my breath before pushing on to the top. Today, however, I needed to stop at the bottom of the steps. BaldRockJun15.1Once I reached the last step, I was able to push on a little further before I needed to stop again. It’s really great when you realize someone is descending the trail. It gives you an excuse to step to the side and wait until they pass. Resting disguised as courtesy; I am all for it. I got an additional rest period by pausing to admire the field of bunchberries on the forest floor.

Once we reached the top, we were rewarded with the spectacular view of the harbor, with Isleboro and Acadia in the distance. We also received the extra gift of several Cedar Waxwings perched in one of the pines just beyond the ledge. They even sat long enough for me to take their picture!

We BaldRockJun15.3enjoyed our lunch and the views for quite some time before heading back down. This time, we decided to break up our routine a bit by continuing further along the trail and coming down the Frohock Mountain trail. There was not as much in the line of floral displays along this trail. However, we did spot an interesting stone formation, laid out in such a way as to create a cave.

We found our progress a bit slower on this trail, perhaps because the ground seemed to consist of more loose gravel than the other. This could also explain, the scarcity of flowering plants. We passed the turn-off to Frohock Mountain but decided to leave the 2 mile trip for another time. Not long after this, we reached the Multiuse Trail once more and finished our hike.

2 thoughts on “Our Favorite Hike

    • It is a great walk and not to difficult. Afraid I am not too familiar with fishing areas to pass on. I have seen people at Payson Park on Route 90 and I now people fish on Megunticook Lake but I guess you know, fishermen don’t reveal their secret places.

Leave a Reply

