Makamah Preserve

Not content with accomplishing the two walks at MakamahErosion   Terrell River and Kaler’s Pond in one weekend, I coerced a friend into joining me for a walk at the Makamah Nature Preserve in Northport. The preserve, acquired by Suffolk County in 1973 was originally called the Crab Meadow East Watershed. I had passed the parking area on 25A a few times and had added this preserve to my list of places to explore.

Although I had discovered in my research, that there was another trail-head on Makamah Road, we opted to begin our adventure at what appeared to me the main parking area on 25A. We set out with high hopes as we descended a slight downhill direction of the trail into the woods. This descent quickly changed direction and I was beginning to wonder it I should turn back for my hiking poles.

Things veryMakamahTrail1 quickly went from bad to worse as the trail soon showed signs of deep erosion to the extent that our choice was either to maneuver step by step through the narrow gulley or attempt our upward climb by straddling this abyss. Once the trail leveled out, I was able to observe the occasional bright splash of color within the green vegetation signaling a new season would soon be upon us. Except for these rare sightings, I was dismayed by the overgrown trail. As we looked across what seemed a never ending expanse of sun-blazed overgrowth with a ribbon of trail barely visible, we reluctantly decided to abandon our walk.MakamahLeaves

Reversing our direction, we found another trail leading off into the woods. Although this was a more pleasant location, the path was not clearly defined. We found that we had to carefully note where we turned since trail markers were nonexistent. To make it easy to remember we decided that whenever we had to make a choice we would always go left but we soon reached a point that we were afraid of getting lost and abandoned this trail as well.

Back in the car, I remembered the research indicating another trail-head so we decided to explore the area a bit to see what we could find. Turning down the side street, I soon discovered a small pull-out area near what appeared to be a trail.MakamahTrail2 We stopped to study the situation and found a kiosk with a trail map. This actually appeared to be the main trail head, so we began our explorations again.

Here we found a trail that was clearly marked in a beautifully wooded area. On one side we observed the marsh, pausing for a few moments to enjoy the reeds swaying with the breeze. Further down on the opposite side of the road we traveled, we discovered a pond. A family of swans was enjoying the calm waters. I had to take quite a few shots of this family before I had an acceptable portrait, for each time I snapped a picture one or all of the family dipped their heads into the water.MakamahSwans

My friend and I traveled on a little further, until this trail also narrowed to a point where we wished to go no further. We finished our walk, satisfied that we had salvaged a portion of our ramble but more importantly happy about the time well spent with a friend.

Leave a Reply

