Changes

On occasion, I have mentioned the stress factor in our lives and the hectic pace of living in an overcrowded suburban area. It is not just unique to me and my husband but every single one of our acquaintances. I know many people who work 2 or more jobs, putting in 10 to 12 hour days. My husband puts in the long days and I work 6 days a week. This leaves the remaining hours of the week for errands and chores. Until recently.NewBeginnings

Realizing we need to consciously change our lifestyle, we have put a plan into place. The first phase was to retire from my part time job of 22 years. I  noticed that when I returned to work after my hip replacement surgery that I no longer had the same energy when it came to my evening and weekend commitment. In fact, every weekend I thought how I really did not want to go in but still I stayed for another year. Someone once told me that you know when it is time to move on and I waited long past that.

So now I have some extra time and additional changes are on the horizon. What will I do with this gift? Hopefully, we will walk more, building up to longer hikes.  There is also a naturalist program at a local environmental organization. I am toying with the idea of trying it out. It is something completely different than anything I have done before so I do have some reservations. At this stage of my life, I do not have endurance for long hikes nor do I have a lot of physical strength. Can I do this? I wonder?.

One thought on “Changes

Leave a Reply

